jimmy power seat

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-10-08, 03:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
jimmy power seat

power seat stuck in full forward position (guess who) and since i'm 6'1"/ 240, it's no trailering for me! checked for the obvious-fuse-no listed fuse in drivers' comp. or under hood.so before i pull the seat, is there a fuse? also checked for jammage in track-none found. thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-10-08, 03:34 PM
Speedwrench's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,698
it either has a fuse or relay, check the fuses with a fuse tester or 12volt test light.

remember murphy was an optimist
 
  #3  
Old 05-10-08, 06:52 PM
carguyinva's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 1,147
no fuse or relay...circuit breaker.

does it try to move in any direction? i know it's all the way forward, but does it try to move forward if you operate the switch in that direction? if it does, it's not the circuit breaker. check for damaged or backed out wire terminals at the under seat connector at the rear of the seat. otherwise you're probably going to need a wire diagram...expose the switch and test it there. also, you didn't post the year, that's helpful for looking up diagrams to give you pointers from.
 
  #4  
Old 05-11-08, 03:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
it's a '98 and it gives no hint of wanting to move.
 
  #5  
Old 05-11-08, 07:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
cannot find fuse or relay
 
  #6  
Old 05-11-08, 03:45 PM
carguyinva's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 1,147
it doesn't have a fuse...it uses a circuit breaker. you can check for power at the main connector under the back of the seat (it's easy to get at since the seat is all the way forward)...orange or orange/black tracer is the power feed. check it with a test light or a voltmeter.
 
  #7  
Old 05-12-08, 05:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Red face found it!

broken grnd wire in motor plug. tried to extract spade from plug and re-crimp to no avail. can i assume that i should scavange a plug and splice in? thanks for the help
 
  #8  
Old 05-12-08, 05:12 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
can i assume that i should scavange a plug and splice in? thanks for the help
Absolutely....

Just scavenge a long enough piece to secure it to the seat frame.......It has to flex, and the factory put it where it was for a reason....It can and will get tangled in the track if it isnt secured properly.

#2-----Burnt connectors are usually a sign of overload....

No disrespect, but you said 6'1 and 240...... Dont lean back while trying to move the seat......Next would be worn motors and excessive amperage, But try it out first.
 
  #9  
Old 05-13-08, 04:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by Unclediezel View Post
Absolutely....

Just scavenge a long enough piece to secure it to the seat frame.......It has to flex, and the factory put it where it was for a reason....It can and will get tangled in the track if it isnt secured properly.

#2-----Burnt connectors are usually a sign of overload....

No disrespect, but you said 6'1 and 240...... Dont lean back while trying to move the seat......Next would be worn motors and excessive amperage, But try it out first.
ok, great-thanks. is wifes' car-will have to tell her to stop using under seat as another closet!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'