2002 ford focus help

Old 08-23-08, 08:38 PM
Question 2002 ford focus help

Hey guys

My girlfriend's Ford Focus (2002 4 door, I think 2.2L engine) has been sitting in a garage for about two years. It wasn't set up for long term storage. We went to move it and it wouldn't start.

We had the battery checked and it was shot. After buying a new battery today and connecting it it still would not start. The starter turns over, but it won't go any further.

What should we try to get it started? starter fluid? Where do you squirt that? I'm good with things like changing shocks and stuff like that, but when it comes to starting, after checking the battery I have zero experience.

Besides starter fluid should we try some kind of fuel additive?

Please help us get this thing running! Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 08-24-08, 05:02 AM
Group Moderator
Getting a car running that's been sitting for two years is not really a DIY project unless you're pretty good with cars. Just for starters the gas in the gas tank is practically worthless and will have to all be drained out (and properly disposed of). Any fuel that was remaining in critical places like intake passages and injectors has now turned to varnish, so gummed up injectors is a possibility.

For starters listen at the gas cap when the key is turned on to see if you can hear the fuel pump run for a few seconds. Next, pull a spark plg wire and hold it near ground to see if you have spark. If you have spark, remove the rubber duct between the air cleaner box and the intake, open the throttle, and squirt a small amount of fresh gas into the intake throat. Try cranking; if you get a little cough you probably have a fuel delivery problem. I don't recommend using starting fluid. It's ether and is highly flammable/exposive.

Any particular reason why the car just sat for two years?

Old 08-24-08, 08:23 AM
Thanks for the help towguy!