Speedometer????

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-04-08, 07:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Speedometer????

I have a 2004 chevy cavalier, one night while driving my speedometer was at 60 mph and then kept going all the way to 100 mph until finally it started going in complete circles. Now it's stuck in the middle any idea how to fix it? thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-04-08, 10:24 AM
nightowlpunk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Connectitax
Posts: 456
If you cannot afford to fix it right now, if your car is an automatic there is a rough way to diagnose speed. If you know what speeds your transmission shifts at, count the shifts to get an idea of your speed. This worked for me when I lost my dashboard lights.
 
  #3  
Old 09-04-08, 11:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
thanks but.....

that's kind of what I've been doing but it's time for my car to be inspected so i need it fixed. But no one seems to how unless i pay like a hundred bucks just to look at it. I just hope somone can give me a rough estimate just so I don't get ripped off.
 
  #4  
Old 09-04-08, 12:06 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,019
Theres a couple of chevy mechanics that check in. Give them time to get off work. Could just be the sending unit, or something more.

Are you sure thats a requirement for the inspection?
 
  #5  
Old 09-04-08, 12:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Not sure

No I'm not really sure......how do I find out?? I live in San Antonio Texas. I just figured for safety issues it would be.
 
  #6  
Old 09-04-08, 12:42 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,019
Call any place that does inspections. If one of the guys that does inspections is there, he'll tell you. Because it's stuck in the middle it's obvious, but I've never lived anywhere where they drove the car for an inspection, so how would they know if it worked?

Here's the safety inspection list....I think yer fine..

http://www.dot.state.tx.us/services/...nspections.htm
 
  #7  
Old 09-04-08, 02:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
thanks but.....

It turns out you were right!!! I didn't need it to be fixed!! Thanks for the help!!
 
  #8  
Old 09-04-08, 03:40 PM
nightowlpunk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Connectitax
Posts: 456
COOL!! I'm glad that my state of CT only checks emissions once every 2 years.
 
  #9  
Old 09-04-08, 05:09 PM
Speedwrench's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,698
if you have a gps unit it can give you your speed to help keep the hypo's at bay, i have a garmin V mounted on my dash and it works very well. the speedo most likely got a dose of overvoltage, usually accesories like that work on lower voltage than 12 volts steped down with a transformer. it could be one for the whole dash or just for the speedo. check a wireing diagram to see.

life begins when the kids leave home and the dog dies
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes