98 ford taurus tranny

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-09-08, 06:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ohio
Posts: 4
98 ford taurus tranny

My husband has a ford taurus, that only after it gets hot, doesn't want to go into first gear. After it finally goes into gear it shifts fine into the other gears. He keeps saying tranny going out, someone said possibly something about bands? I told him to take it to a tranny shop and see what they say. Any suggestions as to what it may be? Thanks in advance, Sherry
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-10-08, 04:59 AM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,215
Ford had many issues with their transmission of that year vintage.
That being said,i would check the fluid level. Maybe a drain/flush would be something to do next.
 
  #3  
Old 09-10-08, 06:02 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,575
You didn't say how many miles were on it, Sherry, but I can echo Swede's sentiments. We've towed dozens and dozens of them to tranny shops, especially the early-mid 90's, some with as little as 40,000 miles on them. The premature failures were, if I remember right, a planetary gear issue; higher mileage vehicles I don't know what goes.

Isn't your hubby always right?
 
  #4  
Old 09-10-08, 06:13 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Owen Sound Ontario Canada
Posts: 541
Im guessing that when cold and it is put into gear that the transmission will not catch and the engine will just rev up each time that the gas is stepped on.
And that after a while it will start to grab and then act normal untill it is shut down for any length of time.

Is this correct
 
  #5  
Old 09-10-08, 08:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ohio
Posts: 4
frankie it runs fine when its cold, its after it gets warm that the problem starts.
 
  #6  
Old 09-11-08, 08:41 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,575
That's a pretty common symptom for a tranny failing internally. Going back to swede's advice, wouldn't hurt to do a filter and fluid change.
 
  #7  
Old 09-11-08, 09:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: northest U.S.
Posts: 158
have you gone to autozone and have them to check for codes? Also next time it happens and if it is safe have him try to put it into reverse and see if it goes, if it does not then he probably has a front clutch seal that is faulty,and quite expensive to repair. So if you can have him try it in reverse before having a fluid and filter change.
good luck
 
  #8  
Old 09-11-08, 11:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ohio
Posts: 4
Thanks all, i will tell him he has to go into town today and ill have him stop by autozone and get code checked and get rest of stuff he needs to change fluid. Oh BTW the car has like 130,000 miles on it. Ill post code when we get it.
 
  #9  
Old 09-11-08, 11:43 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,019
I'm pretty sure the Autozone folks can only pull engine codes. Unless you have a check engine light, probably won't show anything.

Could be wrong....
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes