Headlights out on 88 Ford Ranger

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-12-09, 10:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 27
Headlights out on 88 Ford Ranger

Need help with diagnosis. Both headlights went out at the same time so I thought fuse or switch. I checked fuses 3 tymes and even switched the one that says it is for all exterior lamps. ( only headlights are out - other exterior lamsp are lit). So, I replaced the headlight switch (twice) and the high-low switch. No good. Any ideas? seems unlikely to be both headlights at the same time.
thanks
Da;e
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-12-09, 10:53 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,791
But have you replaced either of the lamps? Or at least tested them? Many folks don't realize they have one out, until the other goes and it gets real dark, real fast.

With lights on, any power to the connectors?
 
  #3  
Old 01-12-09, 11:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 27
Gunguy45 - have not yet replaced either lamp, but, good idea - I wil try that next. I put voltage meter onthe connectors and do not see voltage, but I was not confident that I was getting good connection onthe meter or even if I was correctly connecting the meter.
 
  #4  
Old 01-12-09, 11:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: west central ohio
Posts: 3
Both headlights out???

I thought the headlights were on a circuit breaker and not a fuse(?) Bad breaker????
 
  #5  
Old 01-12-09, 04:27 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,287
Yes, they usually use a breaker. What usually happens is one headlight goes out and you don't notice it. Sometime later, the second one goes, you are driving in the dark swearing that both went at the same time - or maybe just swearing.
 
  #6  
Old 01-12-09, 04:35 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,791
They had breakers in '88? My cars kinda jumped from the '70's to the '90's.

I couldn't weed through the schematics on Autozone.
 
  #7  
Old 01-13-09, 06:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 27
I replaced the headlamps - no good. I don't see any breakers. Any idea where they would be?
thanks
Dale
 
  #8  
Old 01-13-09, 08:31 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,287
My bad on fuse vs breaker on this model. Check fuse #11 which is listed as a 20 amp maxi fuse and is listed as controlling the headlights.
You can go to autozone's site and find the wiring diagram.
 
  #9  
Old 01-13-09, 11:00 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,791
May still be a relay (not a breaker) somewhere...for some reason, can't get to the wiring diagrams.
 
  #10  
Old 01-13-09, 11:10 AM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 99
Could both headlights be on the same line and the connection at the end is rusted and bad? Or are they separately wired to separate fuses or breakers. Just a Idea as they both went out at the same time.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'