Car Missing after installing new alternator

Old 01-13-09, 05:56 PM
Car Missing after installing new alternator

My car quite on me today. 1990 mercury Marquise. The battery light came on the dashboard for the past couple of days. I figured it was a short or bad alternator. Finally today the light came on and then car stalled.

Jumped the car and the battery light stayed on but it stalled doing a U-Turn. Took out the battery and charged it for 7 hoiurs.

Later, I had the battery checked at Autozone and it came back good. Bought and alternator and installed it. Took the battery cable off and car continued to run.

Now the battery light does not come on. When I turn on all electrical devices the car starts missing after a while and then shuts off. Any ideas?

Sponsored Links
Old 01-13-09, 06:15 PM
I am not a mechanic, but is the alternator the correct amperage?? Also triple check all connections. Other than that hope you get it working!!!

Old 01-13-09, 06:16 PM
It is very possible you have damaged the alternator by pulling the batery cable off with engine running. The ignition system needs 11 volts or more to work properly, if alt. is damaged when you load the charging system by turning on the accessorys it pulls the battery voltage down and kills the ignition system. Have the alternator tested, if damaged repair or replace.

Old 01-13-09, 06:45 PM
Missing after changing alt

I agree with wire twister you have probably damaged something by pulling the batt cable off. This method would work with a generator,but solid state electronics dont like surges. RW

Old 01-13-09, 09:33 PM
Hmmm. The battery is only used to start the car. Once it starts it switches to the alternator and starts charging the battery.

When I took the battery cable off, all electrical electrical (head lights, wipers radio etc) was off also.