ford taurus engine problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-02-09, 03:49 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 81
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ford taurus engine problem

I have a 97 ford taurus with automatic transmission. Sometimes when I start the car, the RPMs fluctuate up and down and the car moves back and forth. It feels like the engine wants to turn off. Seems to happen when I am in reverse most. Anyone know what the problem is? (I need this car to last a few more months!)
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-02-09, 08:09 PM
Speedwrench's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,698
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the idle air control motor is probably sticking, i would have the codes read to see if any codes are set, could also be dirty mass airflow sensor or throttle plates, but check the idle air control motor first.

life begins when the kids leave home and the dog dies
 
  #3  
Old 02-02-09, 09:17 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 81
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
that makes sense... my check engine light is on
 
  #4  
Old 02-03-09, 07:06 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 182
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
if it is the IAC sensor you can get them rebuilt and save some money. reall easy to replace yourself two screws and it's on the top of the motor easy access.
 
  #5  
Old 02-03-09, 09:56 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 81
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Where can I get the code read? Autozone doesn't offer it anymore.

How can I know which one is IAC sensor? Any diagrams?
 
  #6  
Old 02-06-09, 02:15 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 81
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had it read. Code P0340 camshaft position sensor circuit malfunction. How difficult if I wanted to do this myself? Any diagrams on location?
 
  #7  
Old 02-08-09, 04:39 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 182
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by daufoi View Post
I had it read. Code P0340 camshaft position sensor circuit malfunction. How difficult if I wanted to do this myself? Any diagrams on location?
when looking at engine right hand side above oil filler cap.
do not buy the autozone brand keep with the oem ford ones better quality, i've heard nightmares of the motormite or dorman brands. if you hear a chriping sound when it's idling you should also replace the synchronizer too.

two bolts on top of unit.

if i knew how to put pictures on i would. lol
 
  #8  
Old 02-08-09, 05:50 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: northest U.S.
Posts: 158
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
special tools are required to set the cam sensor properly, I would recommend a dealer
 
  #9  
Old 02-09-09, 05:49 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 81
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by risoworker View Post
when looking at engine right hand side above oil filler cap.
do not buy the autozone brand keep with the oem ford ones better quality, i've heard nightmares of the motormite or dorman brands. if you hear a chriping sound when it's idling you should also replace the synchronizer too.

two bolts on top of unit.

if i knew how to put pictures on i would. lol
If I PM you my email address, will you send me the pics?
 
  #10  
Old 04-18-09, 05:21 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 81
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Shortly after I posted this, I found a website that guides you through replacing a camshaft position sensor on a 1997 ford taurus. Now I am ready to replace it but can't find the website (and didn't bookmark it ). Anyone know the website?
 
  #11  
Old 04-18-09, 05:39 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by gregtech View Post
special tools are required to set the cam sensor properly, I would recommend a dealer
A very large AGREED... There is a Thin plastic CAP ( Looks almost like a small Baseball cap) that is REQUIRED to position the Synchronizer back in the engine....If these steps are not followed there is probably a 1 in 100 shot that you will get it right by EYE.

If it isnt right..Catastrophic engine damage will be "Definite and Swift"

I know this because I blew up My wifes motor over this, and still havent heard the end of it
 
  #12  
Old 04-19-09, 07:57 AM
8
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
One thing you might can do before replacing it...
Is follow the wiring from the sensor to the next connection.
Then, unplug that connector and make sure all the metal tabs on both ends of the connectors are clean.
Once it's all good, plug it back in snug.

Now it might not fix the problem, but it could just be corrosion or dirt.
Won't take 15 minutes.
 
  #13  
Old 04-19-09, 11:12 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 81
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
anyone know this website?

I posted this in another thread but it was getting too long and it was off topic so here goes again....

I found a website that guides you through replacing a camshaft position sensor on a 1997 ford taurus. It was an average guy describing his experience with the procedure and had pictures posted and everything. I am trying to replace the camshaft position sensor on my 97 taurus and all the guides that I have found don't explain how to get under the wiring bundle and none provide pictures. Unfortunately, I did not bookmark the website (because it easily came up in searches back then but not anymore). By any long shot of a chance, does anyone know the website I am describing?
 
  #14  
Old 04-19-09, 12:07 PM
mowermonkey's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Why do you think its the cam sensor? Symptoms ? Engine & trans ? INFORM US
 
  #15  
Old 04-19-09, 06:06 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 81
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mowermonkey View Post
Why do you think its the cam sensor? Symptoms ? Engine & trans ? INFORM US
The check engine light is on and that's the code I got. I have a guide on how to replace the camshift position sensor but it does not explain how to remove the wiring bundle. If anyone can tell me, or know the website I'm referring to, that would be a huge help.
 
  #16  
Old 04-19-09, 07:30 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 182
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
dauf i sent you a pm to the website to check.
bry
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: