626 clutch question


  #1  
Old 03-09-09, 05:37 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 167
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
626 clutch question

2002 626 5 speed. When a new clutch is put in the car, where is the engagement point regarding the clutch pedal?
At the top or at the bottom of pedal travel?
 
  #2  
Old 03-09-09, 05:43 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,213
Received 242 Upvotes on 195 Posts
The clutch engage point can be adjusted to your personal likes. Most people have about a midpoint for engagement. You don't want it to be at the extreme ends of the travel.
 
  #3  
Old 03-09-09, 07:01 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 167
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I was thinking about buying a 2002 626 5 sp and the 'owner' said the clutch was just replaced 2 months ago, but the pedal travel was all the way to the top before engagement--so I thought he might have been BS-ing me. I didn't know travel could be adjusted. The clutch seemed fine, just way at the top.

Thanx
 
  #4  
Old 03-09-09, 08:30 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,213
Received 242 Upvotes on 195 Posts
That may or may not indicate new clutch. You could look for evidence that the tranny had been removed as additional clues.
 
  #5  
Old 03-09-09, 06:09 PM
W
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern Georgia
Posts: 472
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
with a hydraulic clutch if the flywheel is turned when the clutch is replaced the engagement point will be closer to the top. Most hydraulic clutches now days are not adjustable as far as engagement point.
 
  #6  
Old 03-10-09, 06:58 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,213
Received 242 Upvotes on 195 Posts
Haven't had to deal with one in a while. There's no adjustment at the slave? My older Toys with stick always had an adjustable actuator rod.
 
  #7  
Old 03-11-09, 05:40 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern Georgia
Posts: 472
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Not sure about the Imports but I do not know of an american car with an adjustable slave. Some (like Ford) even have the slave in the bell housing making trans. removal necessary to replace it. Another better idea??
 
  #8  
Old 03-11-09, 05:43 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,213
Received 242 Upvotes on 195 Posts
Yeah, I always shake my head at the inside slave cylinder design. They never considered that it would eventually leak and need replacing?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: