99 corolla no tail lights or dash lights?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-27-09, 11:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,345
99 corolla no tail lights or dash lights?

My kid called me today and says his 99 Toyota has no tail lights or dash lights. He has checked the fuse and they are good. he said brake lights and blinkers work good.
I told him to replace both bulbs and get back with me I am trying to figure out what the two have in common maybe the muliti function switch? What are your thoughts?
We need to get this fixed so he can drive to work at night.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-27-09, 03:56 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Look closely for the extra fuse panel.....

Left side of the dash, right side kick panel and Underhood....

Multifunction could cause this, but you would likely have trouble with the headlamps also...
 
  #3  
Old 03-27-09, 09:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,345
I will check

He is coming over to the house Sat eve I will check and let you know.
 
  #4  
Old 03-28-09, 12:32 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
As I just mentioned in another post today, run off copies of the entire wiring diagram of the car (at least the page(s) on the external lighting of the car).

I do mine, for every car I own, at the library. Giant size Mitchell's books in the reference dept. that you cannot check out. Shows where all the wires go. And all wires listed by color so you can trace.

I recently found why my headlights did not work after I also discovered the left and right headlight fuses did not have hot feeding them: By looking at Mitchell's wirign diagram, I could see that my combo steering column's directional + hi-lo beam switch + windshild wiper washer lever rod was the culprit, since I could see on the wiring diagram that the lever is what feeds hot to the fuse block!
 
  #5  
Old 03-28-09, 07:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,345
found it

It seems that the the only fuse box that was looked at were the ones under the hood.
When I called him I told him about the one in the cabin by the drivers kick panel and to check it out. It turns out the 15 amp lamps fuse was blown he replaced it and now all lights work.
He is happy as he does not have lots of cash to be fixing big ticket items.
 
  #6  
Old 03-30-09, 04:12 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
Partial duplicate post............
 
  #7  
Old 03-30-09, 04:15 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
Can't beat that. How fortuitous.

Hopefully it does not blow again.

15 amps is needed for those little lights?
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:18 PM.