timing chains and belts

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-22-09, 09:19 AM
nightowlpunk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Connectitax
Posts: 456
timing chains and belts

Is it possible to put a timing chain in a car that currently uses a belt? The reason I am asking is that I do not view chains breaking as easily as a rubber belt. I got my timing belt changed a few months ago because my water pump was starting to go south. The previous owner got a door welded shut instead of replacing the latch, so I figured that the timing belt was WAY overdue to be changed at the time because I had put 50k on the car after buying it.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-22-09, 11:33 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,525
No, it is not. Timing belts are external and non-lubricated. Chains are internal and oil lubricated.
 

Last edited by the_tow_guy; 05-23-09 at 10:26 AM.
  #3  
Old 05-23-09, 10:14 AM
nightowlpunk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Connectitax
Posts: 456
Thank you much for clearing that up.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'