changing o2 sensor

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-14-09, 04:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 16
changing o2 sensor

Do I have to disconnect the battery when changing a rear o2 sensor?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-14-09, 06:16 PM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hammond, Louisiana
Posts: 94
if it makes you sleep better at night sure, but in reality you dont have to just plug and play. if u want to erase the codes u can dissconnect the battery for 30 seconds or so then reconnect it. start you engine than wait about mins or so for the computer to relearn itself.

good luck,
redneck_sputter
 
  #3  
Old 06-15-09, 06:12 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,588
That may or may not work depending on what vehicle it is and the year. As redneck says, there's no reason to disconnect the battery just to do the sensor.
 
  #4  
Old 06-15-09, 04:17 PM
nightowlpunk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Connectitax
Posts: 456
From looking at a Hayne's manual, it is downright amazing how many things you are supposed to disconnect the negative battery cable. I am almost surprised they do not tell you to disconnect the battery to change your oil.
 
  #5  
Old 06-16-09, 05:58 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,588
That's because the lawyers get hold of the manuals before they go to press.
 
  #6  
Old 06-16-09, 11:16 AM
nightowlpunk's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Connectitax
Posts: 456
Kind of figured that much. Wouldn't this country be a lot easier if the word lawyer never existed?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes