ford taurus noise


  #1  
Old 08-06-09, 06:09 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 86
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ford taurus noise

Hello,

I have a 1997 ford taurs with automatic transmission. Sometimes when I'm stopped I hear a sound when I place my foot on the gas. It's hard to explain the noise. It seems like an exploding sound but at much much lower volume. It doesn't happen every time. Can anyone tell me what this is? I recently had the oil pump for the transmission replaced. Could it be related to that?
 
  #2  
Old 08-07-09, 05:18 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,016
Received 67 Votes on 56 Posts
Possibly something loose in the exhaust system and you are hearing that.
 
  #3  
Old 08-07-09, 05:32 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 181
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i wonder if it's a misfire. if it was a misfire the check engine light would be on. is it on?
 
  #4  
Old 08-13-09, 11:45 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: san diego, ca
Posts: 86
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is a misfire. It's gotten a little worse and that's what it sounds like. The check engine light has been on for several months due to a bad camshaft position sensor. Would fixing the camshaft position sensor fix the misfire?
 
  #5  
Old 08-14-09, 06:01 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,016
Received 67 Votes on 56 Posts
Good possibility and good place to start. Also any routine maintenance items; plugs, wires, etc.
 
  #6  
Old 08-17-09, 07:21 AM
Square Head's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB, Canada.
Posts: 187
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by daufoi View Post
It is a misfire. It's gotten a little worse and that's what it sounds like. The check engine light has been on for several months due to a bad camshaft position sensor. Would fixing the camshaft position sensor fix the misfire?
If the cam position sensor was not working, I doubt it would run at all. It could be related to the knock sensor not working. Have you had the codes pulled from the computer??
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: