99 Dodge Caravan Trans Fluid/filter change

Old 08-15-09, 11:37 AM
99 Dodge Caravan Trans Fluid/filter change

I plan to change Trans filter & fluid on my 99 dodge Caravan for the first time since I've had it. (110,000 miles & fingers crossed)
#1. Will I get the best trans pan seal if I use a manufactured gasket, or if I just use silicone?
If silicone which color is best?

#2. I have read about getting a more complete fluid change by disconecting a trans line that goes to the trans cooler & running the motor while keeping trans fluid topped up, but I've never done that before.
So I am unsure which hose to disconect: the upper or lower one on the cooler?
How fast will the fluid come out? Drip, run, or high pressure?
Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 08-15-09, 06:18 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Honestly, I would not even do a tranny flush this late in the game. Does your current fluid smell burnt?

Anyways, I've done your option #2 on my vehicles. Pretty easy actually. I disconnect the line from the tranny side. If the fluid spurts out of the tranny side, switch hoses. But first, I drained the tranny fluid from the pan (about 4 qrts). I then replaced that 4 qrts with fresh fluid.

After the top off of 4 qrts, I then disconnect the cooler hose, had the wife start the car while I held the hose into a 4 qrt jug. I told her to shut off the car when I filled 1 qrt. It doesn't take long, and it won't spray out everywhere. I replenished that 1 qrt with fresh. I did this about 5-6 times. You know you replaced all your tranny fluid, including the torque converter, when the fluid draining into the jug is clean. I went through a total of about 10-12 qrts for my Maxima.

Old 08-19-09, 04:40 PM
Ok, job sucessfully done. No leaks so far.