high idle

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-11-09, 02:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ma
Posts: 97
high idle

95 gmc jimmy 4x4 224000mi while driving car wanted to stall as if no gas then would idle real high, repaced tps under warrenty at az ,when i remove tps plug idle stays the same,any help in this would be appreiciat K
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-11-09, 08:01 PM
Square Head's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB, Canada.
Posts: 188
Lightbulb

Take a look at the IAC valve / Idle Air Control valve.
You can remove it and soak it in liquid wrench for a few hours. Just soak the bottom valve area, not the electrical plug.
Clean it good as it gets carbon build up and sticks.
Dry it out with compressed air and use a new gasket when re-installing.
 
  #3  
Old 09-11-09, 08:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Eastern Georgia
Posts: 486
95 does not have IAC valve, it is throttle body injection. Check for a vacuum leak at the gasket between throttle body and intake, or loose throttle body attaching bolts.
 
  #4  
Old 09-12-09, 04:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ma
Posts: 97
this 95 is the ob11 version of the crossover year .there was no code for iac but thats what ill be looking at today[figures it raining but it has to be done i guess.I also thought it may be a vaccum leak. thank guys ill let you know later how i made out . also how can i check for vaccum leaks as i do not have any tools for it.
 
  #5  
Old 09-12-09, 06:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ma
Posts: 97
Smile

heres what i have so far, removed iac and sprayed with thottle cleaner,cleaned throttlebody both at iac and the t body.first atemp got the high idle then tried again and it went back to good idle. drove about12mi with stop and start interviles and all so far seems to have done it,knock on wood. if i get again im going to change out the iac. will write again if repeat. thank you guys very much for the info K
 
  #6  
Old 09-13-09, 08:49 PM
Square Head's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB, Canada.
Posts: 188
Ensure all vacuum hoses are tight and no splits.
Did you use a new gasket for the IAC?
I'd start pricing out a new valve as well. Try Rockauto.com.
Post back and good luck.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'