As a professional mechanic, would you ever buy a new vehicle?

Old 09-16-09, 12:35 PM
As a professional mechanic, would you ever buy a new vehicle?

I use to turn wrenches for a living, but now I'm in the office of a vehicle fleet maintenance shop. The other day I was thinking, as a mechanic would I ever buy a new vehicle? Compared to buying a slightly used vehicle that needs minor (or major work based on sale price) work and use my skills to repair the car.

As a mechanic, we have a better idea of what a car is worth, it's resale value and how much it would take to repair. So we can use that knowledge to determine if that used vehicle is a better deal compared to a new vehicle. Try not to use salary income as a basis of used or new. When I say used, it can have as little as 5-10,000 miles.

Personally, I will probably never experience that "new car smell". Because I will always be on the look out for that great used car deal.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-16-09, 01:49 PM
Group Moderator
Won't see me in a dealer showroom. Beer 4U2

Old 09-16-09, 02:36 PM
For years, I had leased company cars and drove them for about 125,000 miles and the last miles were just as good as the first miles, but we did have a maintenance shop on site, but no problems with proper maintenance.

I bought a 1994 Corvette with 20,000 miles on it and drove it for another about 50,000 with no problems.

Currently, I have a 1999 Jimmy LST 4WD that I bought from GM corporate with 24,000 miles and have 135,000 on it and it still just as good as new, but I do good periodic maintenance (synthetic oil, plugs, wires, distributor, etc.) and don't skimp. My wife has a 2000 Blazer 4WD that we bought at 25,000 miles and she has about 100,000 with no problems on it with similar maintenance. The only complaint is with the "toy" front suspension, but replaced as much as possible with good when needed. If I had bought new, I would have had that problem.