Mercury Sable radio swap ??

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-28-09, 11:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Question Mercury Sable radio swap ??

Hello All! I have a 98 Sable Wagon that the casette player stopped working on. I use it to power a portable CD player. On Ebay I have found plenty of radios for this car....but they all say that I will need to get the theft code. Is there anyway to by-pass this theift code? The car is 11 yrs old with 160k miles on it. I don't want to spend a tone of $ but need my music to commute.

Thanks,

Doug Beer 4U2

What can go wrong...Does at my place!!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-28-09, 12:09 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,017
Might be tough but you might want to explore a FM transmitter type setup. Probably a lot more radio stations there than here, so you'd need to find a clear area on the spectrum.
 
  #3  
Old 09-28-09, 04:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 553
Go to Crutchfield; there will be a radio to fit your car without needing a theft code.
 
  #4  
Old 09-28-09, 05:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: santa fe /texas
Posts: 998
i work for a ford dealer,i do not do the 'radio/trim/electrical.
i do know a little though.
what you are refering to is that the vehicles have become so sophisticated,that 'all' electronics comunicate over a 2 wire system that embeds the vehicle 'vin'# in to each device/module.(if it dont match-it dont work) i did not know that that was employed in a '98' model.

i drive a '96' 250-when the radio quit,i was able to get a used one-as you are thinking-with no problems.
 
  #5  
Old 09-29-09, 11:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Cool Yep its on the '98

I am still trying to go on the cheap. I can get a stock radio for $10.00 that includes the shipping. So I don't want to have to pay to get the security blockage fixed.

Anyone else with thoughts?

Thanks,

Doug Beer 4U2

What can go wrong....Does around my place
 
  #6  
Old 09-29-09, 01:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: santa fe /texas
Posts: 998
as i stated,for my 96 there was no security block involved
 
  #7  
Old 09-29-09, 02:49 PM
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 1,563
What is the music for you'r morning commute worth??? It's no big deal for any dealer to reset the security code... It'll be cheeper than an aftermarket raido & if the battery goes dead, you'll have to reset it anyway... Have you checked the owners manual to see if the procedure is in it??? $10.00 for the raidio & programming, maybe 30 /40 bucks... How cheep do you want to be??? Just my thought.. Roger
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes