97 Stratus Auto Transmission replacement


  #1  
Old 10-04-09, 09:35 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
97 Stratus Auto Transmission replacement

I have a 97 Stratus, 2.4 engine, Automatic transmission.. The transmission is out of it and i have gotten one from a salvage yard to replace it. I was looking at the Chilton repair manual and it said that after the replacement was finished i had to hook up some kind of scan tool so the transmission could "learn"

I have swapped transmission on several other cars in past and have never run into this. is this necessary???

Thanks
Vic
 
  #2  
Old 10-04-09, 10:04 AM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Technically ....Yes....

Real world.....No

It may just act a bit funny for a short while, but it eventually will learn by itself......

The scantool process is referred to as "QUICK-learn", for that very reason....
 
  #3  
Old 10-04-09, 12:18 PM
E
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,627
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by oldguru View Post
I have a 97 Stratus, 2.4 engine, Automatic transmission.. The transmission is out of it and i have gotten one from a salvage yard to replace it. I was looking at the Chilton repair manual and it said that after the replacement was finished i had to hook up some kind of scan tool so the transmission could "learn"

I have swapped transmission on several other cars in past and have never run into this. is this necessary???

Thanks
Vic
On a transverse mounted engine like this, do you have to take the car almost all apart to get one out? Does the engine need to come out with it? I look down into the engine compartment of such cars and shake my head. Can't imagine going through that much work? Good luck on your project.
 
  #4  
Old 10-04-09, 04:47 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Unclediezel View Post
Technically ....Yes....

Real world.....No

It may just act a bit funny for a short while, but it eventually will learn by itself......

The scantool process is referred to as "QUICK-learn", for that very reason....
Thank you for the info!!!
I figured as much but wanted to be sure, I definately don't want to go to the work to swap it and then screw it up!!!!!
 
  #5  
Old 10-10-09, 02:26 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Another question on this vehicle and transmission,
is there a seperate computer for the trtansission or does it use the main.?

Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 10-11-09, 04:31 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 553
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Two computers; I hope this is an apple-apple swap.
 
  #7  
Old 10-11-09, 07:21 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,016
Received 67 Votes on 56 Posts
Not sure if a Stratus tranny swap is a bargain; anybody remember if those are somewhat problematic generally?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: