97 Stratus Auto Transmission replacement

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-04-09, 09:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 40
97 Stratus Auto Transmission replacement

I have a 97 Stratus, 2.4 engine, Automatic transmission.. The transmission is out of it and i have gotten one from a salvage yard to replace it. I was looking at the Chilton repair manual and it said that after the replacement was finished i had to hook up some kind of scan tool so the transmission could "learn"

I have swapped transmission on several other cars in past and have never run into this. is this necessary???

Thanks
Vic
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-04-09, 10:04 AM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Technically ....Yes....

Real world.....No

It may just act a bit funny for a short while, but it eventually will learn by itself......

The scantool process is referred to as "QUICK-learn", for that very reason....
 
  #3  
Old 10-04-09, 12:18 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
Originally Posted by oldguru View Post
I have a 97 Stratus, 2.4 engine, Automatic transmission.. The transmission is out of it and i have gotten one from a salvage yard to replace it. I was looking at the Chilton repair manual and it said that after the replacement was finished i had to hook up some kind of scan tool so the transmission could "learn"

I have swapped transmission on several other cars in past and have never run into this. is this necessary???

Thanks
Vic
On a transverse mounted engine like this, do you have to take the car almost all apart to get one out? Does the engine need to come out with it? I look down into the engine compartment of such cars and shake my head. Can't imagine going through that much work? Good luck on your project.
 
  #4  
Old 10-04-09, 04:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 40
Originally Posted by Unclediezel View Post
Technically ....Yes....

Real world.....No

It may just act a bit funny for a short while, but it eventually will learn by itself......

The scantool process is referred to as "QUICK-learn", for that very reason....
Thank you for the info!!!
I figured as much but wanted to be sure, I definately don't want to go to the work to swap it and then screw it up!!!!!
 
  #5  
Old 10-10-09, 02:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 40
Another question on this vehicle and transmission,
is there a seperate computer for the trtansission or does it use the main.?

Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 10-11-09, 04:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 553
Two computers; I hope this is an apple-apple swap.
 
  #7  
Old 10-11-09, 07:21 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,531
Not sure if a Stratus tranny swap is a bargain; anybody remember if those are somewhat problematic generally?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'