Noisy EEC Relay removed and it still runs?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-03-10, 06:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cecil County, MD
Posts: 209
Noisy EEC Relay removed and it still runs?

Something has been discharging my battery since I bought this vehicle. At first it took all night long to discharge it. It was getting worse until it took only a couple of hours.
Yesterday a friend was in the truck with me and she said she could hear something under the dash. It took a while but another friend tracked it down to the EEC relay. I'm very hard of hearing so I had to go by feel for the most part.
The EEC relay buzzed/vibrated only when the key was off. He suggested I leave it in for the trip home as we didn't really know what the relay was for. I forgot to install it and drove home with no problems. This morning I should have had a dead battery but it was fine.
How can the engine run without the relay? Is it a bad relay or is there something else bad causing the relay to behave this way?
I am going to get a replacement for it today.
 

Last edited by 2muchgrass; 06-03-10 at 06:42 AM. Reason: typo
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-03-10, 07:34 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: santa fe /texas
Posts: 998
'I' thought that U had stated-in an earlier post, that the truck 'did not, have electronic engine controls?

with the relay out- is ther something that dosn't work?
 
  #3  
Old 06-03-10, 09:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cecil County, MD
Posts: 209
I am as confused as the next guy on this engine. This is what I have been told. This engine was the last one before they went all electronic. All the components are there but (and this is only my opinion) they aren't all being utilized. It has a carburetor plus everything it needs to go EFI or a throttle body, if I'm remembering what I was told correctly. I don't know. I've read so many conflicting articles and have been told so much I really am not sure about anything right now.
Am I right in assuming the EEC relay provides power to the computer? If so, how can the vehicle run without it? And if it will run without the computer, why have it?
 
  #4  
Old 06-03-10, 03:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: santa fe /texas
Posts: 998
there is not much telling-what has been done to the truck-over the years.
if every thing needed still works-with out the relay- let well enough be.
 
  #5  
Old 06-03-10, 03:51 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Year Make and Model?????

Unless something has been Hacked into over the years, If it was under the dash......Then it absotively, Posilutely is NOT an EEC relay.
Every Ford I have ever seen has the EEC relay and Fuel pump Relay in a Plastic "Housing" ---UNDER THE HOOD.....Unless It was a Taurus/Sable or Escort /Tempo. They have a seperate Control Module (If I Recall correctly, It was called An Integrated Relay Control module, Or IRCM)

If this relay was "RIGGED" somewhere in time, Yes absolutely it would kill your battery. Look carefully for any wiring near the location that "OBVIOUSLY DOESNT BELONG". Without EEC....You have no power to fuel injectors, fuel pump,(Fuel pump relay is fed directly from EEC relay switch leg) or ignition coil, Any one of which will disable the starting, much less all of them, The car shouldnt run.

To sum it up....Either the relay you pulled is NOT the EEC, or some one did some Funky Stuff with your wiring somewhere along the way.
 
  #6  
Old 06-03-10, 08:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: santa fe /texas
Posts: 998
it's an older-(84-150)300" w/ non feed back carb
possibly -started out as EEC
then dissabled-/- conveted to Duraspark
(best'I' can figure)
 
  #7  
Old 06-04-10, 05:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cecil County, MD
Posts: 209
Pictures

I'm going to take a boatload of pictures and post them today. I took the part number off of the relay is how I came up with EEC relay. I'll take pictures. It would be great if someone could tell me exactly what I have here. I've had a lot of opinions but even Ford technicians can't agree.
 
  #8  
Old 06-04-10, 08:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: santa fe /texas
Posts: 998
Wink

where's the 'PICS' - I want to see this thing
 
  #9  
Old 06-05-10, 12:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cecil County, MD
Posts: 209
[SIZE=3]I am sorry. Everybody and their uncle needed me for one thing or another today. I WILL post pictures tomorrow but I can show you what it looks like.[/SIZE]
[SIZE=3]His site says it is an ECM relay.[/SIZE]
[SIZE=3]http://c2c.activant.com/ctoc/index.jsp?ID=ZBS16GCw.CU5xPyJ_CUZPM21OGyB3AFAPGwAA[/SIZE]
[SIZE=3]This one says an EEC relay.[/SIZE]
[SIZE=3]http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/355079-what-is-this-plug-1985-f150-300-6-e47f-12a646-a1a-part.html[/SIZE]
[SIZE=3] [/SIZE]
 
  #10  
Old 06-05-10, 01:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cecil County, MD
Posts: 209
Hope the link works. Here are the pictures. There's a couple of shots under the dash of what I thought was the computer.
Picasa Web Albums - Andrew - 1984 Ford F-150
 
  #11  
Old 06-05-10, 04:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: santa fe /texas
Posts: 998
yes-that is an 'EEC' set up(electronic engine controls)
has a feed back carb-the processor/computer controls fuel mixture-(note the solonoid hanging from the side)/& (the idle speed control solonoid)
distributor has 'no vacuume advance' processor controls timming advance curve
has a mechanical fuel pump-so that is not the fuel pump relay.
looks like the the 'EEC' power supply relay/so it must have been 'by passed'-/ rigged at one time.
there is not much for U to adjust
 
  #12  
Old 06-06-10, 03:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cecil County, MD
Posts: 209
Well, I'll be! Why would one want to do the by-pass thingy you mentioned. I should mention at this point that the truck sat for a number of years because no one could get it running and keep it running. I'm not what I would call a "mechanic" but 24 hours after buying the truck I was driving it past the former owners house. Anyway, maybe the hack took plac e when they were trying to get it running?
And the pictures of the thing under the dash. Is that the "computer"?
 
  #13  
Old 06-06-10, 08:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: santa fe /texas
Posts: 998
yes-the pics under the dash are of the computer/has the black connector with bolt in center
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 PM.