How to change spark plugs for 06 Camry.

Old 07-13-10, 11:48 PM
How to change spark plugs for 06 Camry.

I have a 2006 4 cly Camry. I want to change the spark plugs, but I have never done this on Camry before. Can some one tell me where to find them, what to do step by step, what sort of tools I need?? Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-14-10, 04:57 AM
Group Moderator
Socket (5/8", I think)
6" extension
ratchet

Very easy to do. We have an '01, but I'm prettty sure all the 4 cyl Camrys are similar. Open hood, find the four plug wires right on top of the valve cover (boxy looking grayish part running crosswise on top of the engine). One at a time, very carefully pull up on the rubber bushing where the plug wire disappears. Might have to wiggle and twist a bit for it to disengage. Look down in hole and you'll see the plug. Take care not to overtighten the new plug. Does yours use the pricey plugs? Think I paid about 8 bucks a piece for mine.

Old 07-14-10, 06:15 AM
Group Moderator
Originally Posted by the_tow_guy View Post
One at a time, very carefully pull up on the rubber bushing where the plug wire disappears.
One at a time is very important - helped a buddy replace plugs and wires on a V8 in high school. We each took a bank and went to work. I went one at a a time, he ripped everything off first and then put on all the new stuff. The car didn't run well afterward because he got two of the wires reversed when he put them back on. The shock he got when he tried to correct them with the engine running was pretty funny, though....

Old 07-14-10, 04:43 PM