94 VW Jetta lost something with tubes

Old 07-28-10, 02:42 PM
94 VW Jetta lost something with tubes

Hi, I’m a newbie here on the car forum and I know next to nothing about cars but here’s my situation:

My 4 Cly, 2.0L, 94 VW Jetta 4-door sedan, manual tranny is a POS (Piece of, um, Scrap) car, except that the engine has always run well for the 5 years I’ve had it; so I'd like to hang onto it awhile longer.

A few days ago, it would start right up but immediately die as soon as it started.

Long story short, I found a local mechanic on Craig’s List who made house calls and when he came out and tried to start it, I saw a wisp of smoke to the rear of the engine that drew my eye to a fragment of something that was broken and obviously missing--or mostly missing.

What was left is part of a broken housing that connects two hoses, one to the rear ( upper right side of the rear) of the shiny engine top with the big “2.0” indented on it, and the other hose went to the air intake housing. Whatever it is that’s missing had some shreds of oil-soaked foamy material that must have been a filter, and my trunk-slamming mechanic thought there might have been some valve involved in there too.

According to him, what was causing the engine to die was the now-open tube to the air intake assembly letting in air instead of maintaining the vacuum that assembly needs where it feeds. Hope that makes sense.

He did a temporary “fix” by using the remnants of the broken part to connect the engine tube directly to the air intake ass’y tube and it started right up and runs okay. Obviously, with the filter-plus-whatever-else missing, I don’t want to drive it too much, but I drove the ten miles or so to the nearest NAPA store. Did I mention I live out in the sticks?