Do I put in a new motor?

Old 02-04-11, 08:07 AM
Do I put in a new motor?

So here's my situation. I've got a fairly old Toyota Camrey (1998) with about 150,000 miles on it. The engine had some kind of a lubrication problem and it has siezed up. The shop that I've taken it to says that they can get a motor for me that has about 60,000 miles on it. The motor will cost $1100 and they can install it for $1000, so my car should be working again for about $2100.

I'm not an expert on cars by any means so I'm wondering if people who know more about this than me think this sounds like a good idea. As far as know the rest of the car is in decent condition. This is really first major issue that this car has had since 1998.

Let me know what you think?

Sponsored Links
Old 02-04-11, 08:27 AM
Group Moderator
My thought process is whether you trust the car and plan to drive it for a while longer - you need to sink $2K into this car to make it drivable again and it would cost quite a bit more than that to replace the car itself so this is a reasonable repair in my mind if there is little or nothing else wrong and you intend to keep driving it for a while

Old 02-04-11, 08:50 AM
Thanks for the response Mitch. I do intend to keep driving the car as long as I can. Does $2100 sound about right for a repair like this? I didn't sound to bad to me.

Old 02-04-11, 09:02 AM
The price is only relevant to other prices you are getting in your area. You have to "shop around" in order to know what the deal is. The trouble is, how many "good" mechanic shops do you have to choose from? If you are getting a price from a person that you have dealt with previously and have trust built with them, then you have to figure he/she is taking care of you. If you have never dealt with the shop before and just got a price at random, then you can do that at a couple of other places and see what you get.