After changing plugs and wires on my 1997 Blazer I have misfiring...

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-01-11, 06:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United States of America
Posts: 7
After changing plugs and wires on my 1997 Blazer I have misfiring...

I have gapped the plugs. Help Please!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-02-11, 04:07 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,018
Welcome to the forums!

Did you replace one wire and plug at a time or all at once? If you did them all at once - check your firing order to make sure it's right.
 
  #3  
Old 08-02-11, 04:19 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,514
Also check routing to make sure one didn't accidently get in contact with something bad like the exhaust manifold.
 
  #4  
Old 08-02-11, 07:40 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Most important did you change the cap and rotor? My 96 s10 was pretty corroded and was the cause of my misfire.

Mike NJ
 
  #5  
Old 08-02-11, 10:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United States of America
Posts: 7
Yeah, I did 'em one at a time. The misfire starts after it warms up some, so...

I'll start by checking the routing and let y'all know.
 
  #6  
Old 08-02-11, 10:19 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,497
Brings back memories - a buddy and I each took a bank of the V8 he had in his car to replace the plugs and wires when we were in high school. I replaced one at a time, he pulled them all and then realized the error of his ways. He figured he might have a particular pair reversed and, sure enough, the car ran rough afterward. We learned a second lesson that day when he tried to switch them while the engine was still running....
 
  #7  
Old 08-02-11, 10:27 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Chuckles change the cap and rotor. I can tell you that you need to sit on the engine to get to it and a mirror to see the back screw. The new cap comes with screws but try to save to old ones. You may lose one or two trying to thread the rear one. Trust me I know...LOL

Mike NJ
 
  #8  
Old 08-02-11, 01:33 PM
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada (near The Motor City)
Posts: 589
Why did you change the plugs and wires in the first place, was it mis-firing then?

It's also possible to have a defective plug/wire in the new parts.
 
  #9  
Old 08-02-11, 02:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United States of America
Posts: 7
Up and running without misfire! Thanks to all you who responded! Special thanks

...to the tow guy on this one. My problem ended up being caused by a plug wire routing error. A friend of mine helped out with the job and I didn't notice until checking, but he ran the wire for #3 under the hoses and other conduit on the passenger side there. I don't know what it was on but you could see on the wire where it was getting hot. I re-routed the wire, let the engine warm up and no misfire. Looks like problem solved!
I might try the cap and rotor for an enhancement Mike. It could run a little smoother I think and maybe that'll do it.
Thanks again y'all!
 
  #10  
Old 08-02-11, 02:08 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,018
I'd keep an eye on that particular plug wire - it doesn't do them any good to get that hot
 
  #11  
Old 08-02-11, 02:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United States of America
Posts: 7
Will do...I'm hoping that It'll hold up...the high temp silicone barely shows the mark from it, but obviously it was to hot. Thanks for the heads up.
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 AM.