HELP !.6 Overhead cam GEO

Old 03-18-12, 06:55 PM
HELP !.6 Overhead cam GEO

This one is driving me nuts. Surely somebody else has had this problem.
1992 GEO storm 1.6 Single overhead cam. Hydralic lifters by the Haynes Manual. Has OBD or some system on it. No check engine light or other sign of trouble.
It is old but low milage, good shape and was free so instead of scrapping it I started playing with it. All 4 cylinders have a 120 Psi on a dry compression test. Did not bother with a wet one.
Problem No power. Changed the plugs, Badly corroded rotor and Dist cap. Changed fuel filter that was almost completely plugged. Changed Air Filter. These did not help any. Did a temp test on the Catatlic Converter that indicated it was plugged so disconnected it for this troubleshooting. Ran through the Haynes Book troubleshooting and found:
If you pull # 2 &3 plug wires off you could not tell you had pulled them off. Pull 1 or 4 and the engine dies. Put a tester between the plug and the plug wire and it shows the new plugs are getting fire. Gotta be they are not getting fuel through the injectors . I put a can of Seafoam injector cleaner through the fuel system and it improved to the point you could tell when you pulled #3 wire off. Both 2 &3 injectors are getting fire and clicking just like 1 & 4. Pulled the injectors and rigged them up so I could see the squirt pattern . 2 and 3 were barely squirting. Got the injectors cleaned and all 4 squirt the same. Reinstalled the injectors and still #2 and 3 and have the same problem.
While I had the intake off I checked it for crud buildup. I understand these engines have a history of this. Does not seem to be anything but the normal oily film from the PVC system.