Why new rear brakes so soon?

Old 05-18-12, 02:50 AM
Why new rear brakes so soon?

I have a 2008 Ford Taurus with only 43,000 miles. I had it into the dealer getting an oil change, rotation, etc. and they told me I need rear brakes. The original front brakes are fine. I have been driving since 1966 and this is a first for me. First, I have never had a car that needed rear brakes in so few miles. Second, I have never had a car that needed rear brakes before front brakes.

Does anyone have any ideas what's going on? My experience years ago was always that I could get at least 2 sets of front brakes done before I needed rear brakes, in fact 100,000 miles was not unusual for rear brakes. Granted that was in the days of drum brakes... Even in recent cars I have never had to replace rear brakes first, much less at that low mileage. The dealer has no explanation and when I e-mailed Ford, they essentially said "too bad".

Sponsored Links
Old 05-18-12, 04:12 AM
Group Moderator
Just curious if they took you in the shop and showed you how much material was left. Different garages have different definitions of when you "need" brakes.

Old 05-18-12, 04:51 AM
No, I didn't actually see them. I am half tempted to pull the wheels today and look at them myself and compare to the front brakes.

Even so, has anyone ever heard of rear brakes going before front brakes?? Unless there was some kind of problem of course, and I've never noticed anything that would suggest a problem.

Old 05-18-12, 05:00 AM
Group Moderator
No. Barring an issue like a sticky caliper I would expect the backs to last about 2x the front, but like you I base that on rear drums (wife's current driver is an '01 Camry - rear drums) so we'll see what the rest of the gang says who have dealt more with rear disks.

I would be curious enough to pull a wheel, too, and disks are a lot easier to check than drums since the pads are visible.

Old 05-18-12, 06:21 AM
Super Moderator