First time online buyer: tires

Old 01-16-13, 04:15 AM
First time online buyer: tires

Good morning-
Our SUV has a sidewall leak in the right rear tire that can't be repaired. I am planning to replace both rear tires; the front tires are still in good shape.

I'd always wanted to try an online tire purchase. I found a garage to mount, balance etc the new tires; found an exact match of make, model, tire size and speed / load rating for the existing tires.

About to pull the trigger (and save a fistful of dollars) but just looking for some validation: am I missing anything?

Thanks
Dave O

Sponsored Links
Old 01-16-13, 04:27 AM
Group Moderator
The only real drawback is warranty; although the tires are warranted just like any other, you can't just drive down to the local tire store and get a warranty replacement although there are provisions for quickee replacements when you need one (you pay a little extra for that coverage). I've been buying my wrecker tires on line for several years [Discount Tire Direct] and have been pretty happy with the extra $ in my pocket. Of course I have a number of options as to mounting (including finagling time on a tire machine to mount them myself).

Old 01-16-13, 04:55 AM

Bought a full set from Tire Rack.....had them shipped and delivered to Canada.

No complaints.....transaction was smooth.

They can deliver to your home or directly to the garage where they will be installed.

Old 01-16-13, 05:18 AM
Online Tires

How much of the savings is offset by shipping charges?

Old 01-16-13, 05:34 AM
Super Moderator
Bought from Tire rack way back when.. Got a good deal on them. But when you need to pay for mount and balance at the local shop its often at a premium...$25 per tire.

The online deals are not what they used to be. I now find the same tires locally cheaper, because mount and balance is often included.

Lastly from my research those online deals are often blemished tires, or slightly defective.