Block heater questions (Real simple one, really!)

Old 01-22-13, 10:38 AM
Block heater questions (Real simple one, really!)

2005 Dodge Caravan.

So, the other day while filling my windshield wiper fluid i realized lo and behold, I have a block heater! Never noticed this little cord sticking up by the front drivers side headlight. I've never used one as I've never had one before!

First question, why didn't they stick this thing out the front grill like every other block heater cord I've ever seen. This little short one is (appears to be) too short to even stick out from the engine compartment. I have to leave my hood open a crack at night to have it plugged in via an extension cord.

How long is it advisable to leave it plugged in? It's around -15 degrees Celsius here right now. This morning I plugged it in when I got up, then unplugged 45 minutes later when I left for work. I was thinking the temp gauge would jump right up when I turned the ignition key. Instead, it stayed on C but I did notice the engine did warm up faster than usual. Got to work and asked my boss about this. He said when he uses his, he leaves it plugged in all night! Seems like a bit of overkill to me, but again I'm not knowledgeable about these things.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-22-13, 07:20 PM
its meant for an over night thing.but for 15C kinda not needed.but kinda wish i was that warm. -8c here

Old 01-23-13, 05:45 AM
Ha, thanks Iceman but it's -15c here not 15c. With a foot of snow added yesterday and another due today.

Old 01-23-13, 07:37 AM
Get a timer and a two prong adapter and set the timer so it turns on the heater 3 hrs before you start it. Set timer so it shuts off sometime after you leave for work.
Mike

Old 01-23-13, 07:44 AM