At Whits End

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-05-13, 01:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
At Whits End

I have a 95 Taurus that is a crank but no start. I just replaced a bad fuel pump and it still won't start. I have 13 codes in the computer when I did a slow code pull. The codes are 116, 636, 114, 335, 172, 173, 211, 326, 327, 332, 336, 542, and 556. I need help!!
 

Last edited by the_tow_guy; 03-06-13 at 04:32 AM. Reason: Fixed formatting
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-05-13, 03:12 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Welcome to the forums! I ain't looking all those codes up, but I am certain you made corrections on each one and cleared the codes, right? Still no start?
 
  #3  
Old 03-05-13, 03:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 197
At Whits End,

Did all those codes set all at ONCE?

With all due respect what is your LEVEL OF SKILL?

Are you sure you are reading the codes CORRECTLY?

If you CLEAR all the CODES which ones COME BACK?
 
  #4  
Old 03-05-13, 03:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Amy,

I have an associates degree and 6 years military training/experience, as well as 8 years shop experience. I just opened up my own shop and do not have access to MitchellOnDemand or Alldata yet.
 
  #5  
Old 03-05-13, 03:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Chandler,

I haven't been able to make all the necessary corrections as of yet, I was hoping to be able to see if there was anyone on here who has had a similar problem in the past. I have plenty of spark and plenty of fresh fuel, but it still won't start.
 
  #6  
Old 03-05-13, 04:13 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
This isn't a 1955 Chevy. All we needed back then was air, spark and fuel. Today with all the computer stuff, it gets a little harrier. I've never seen more than 3 codes show up at a time. With all those codes showing up at once, I would venture to say one or two are terminal to the point of not starting. If you could borrow a code reader, it would make your life more simple. I know buying one for that age car is probably not in the works, but you really need to read, fix and clear them.
 
  #7  
Old 03-05-13, 04:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
The codes are as follows:
116 Engine Cooland Temp out of range
636 Transmission Fluid temp out of range
114 ACT/IAT/VAT circuit out of range
335 EGR PFE/DPFE voltage out of range
172 O2S Sensor lean bank 1
173 O2S Sensor rich bank 1
211 profile ignition sensor circuit malfunction
326 PFE/DPFE EGR sensor below minimum voltage
327 EGR Sensor below minimum voltage
332 EGR Flow Insufficient
336 EGR PFE/DPFE Voltage out of range
542 Fuel pump secondary circuit open PCM fuel pump ground
556 Fuel pump primary circuit malfunction
 
  #8  
Old 03-05-13, 04:54 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
I would say the main computer module. ( ECM) Its under the hood and there's a test for it. There no way IMO all those codes would throw out at once.
 
  #9  
Old 03-05-13, 05:00 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Read this.

Engine Computer Test and Engine Replacement computers.

8 years shop exp....?????????
 
  #10  
Old 03-05-13, 05:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,850
By looking at those codes I think you lost the common regulated supply that goes to most of the sensors. It could be around 5 volts DC.

Either the computer isn't supplying it or there is a short in one of the sensor lines. Usually if there's a short in the sensor lines the problem may start as an intermittent problem.
 
  #11  
Old 03-05-13, 06:28 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,050
My service truck was tossing codes like crazy one time. Turns out the a group of wires came loose and fell on to a heat shield and the wires were shorting to ground. Maybe that might help?
 
  #12  
Old 03-05-13, 07:29 PM
iceman681's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 435
my guess is you ran your battery pritty low in the prosses of trying to start it causeing most of then codes. i would charge the battery clear the codes and get a fresh start. what told you the fuel pump was bad? and where and how are you testing spark?
 
  #13  
Old 03-06-13, 04:17 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 197
Jbucholz,

You said you have plenty of fresh fuel and spark, but is that fuel and spark reaching the plugs?

Is cylinder compression adequate?

Is there an excessive back pressure issue?

Yes answers to the first two above, and a no answer to the last one above means a timing chain problem.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'