2000 Grand Prix Power Steering Problem

Old 04-13-13, 08:47 AM
2000 Grand Prix Power Steering Problem

So, here's what happened:

Just started making noisy power steering sounds when we started turning the wheel over the winter. Happens when turning both directions the entire time you drive the car.. Tolerable when turning, but annoying. We've put about 7000 miles on the car in 2 years - just need it as a backup to our other vehicles. I'm not an expert mechanic by any means, but if there's a simple solution, or if you can give me an idea of the cost of the repair, I'm just curious so I can plan our family budget accordingly. Thanks ahead of time for your input!

Sponsored Links
Old 04-13-13, 02:16 PM
So, fortunately, it was as easy as adding more power steering fluid, but I'm still kind curious. It fixed most of the resistance when turning the wheel, but when I turn left there's still a loud noise occasionally, but it works good enough for now. What I'm curious about is since we've ever had it, it's made a small whirring sound, which later turned into this power steering problem (I believe). The whirring sound was faintly present when idling, fairly noticeable when hitting the gas, and then tapers off a little bit when taking your foot off the gas. I'm assuming its related to the power steering problem, seemed like a precursor, but not an experienced mechanic so don't know for sure. It's not a wheel bearing - I've had those before.

Thoughts?

Old 04-13-13, 02:45 PM
Super Moderator
Bad idler pulley? Does this have a single serpentine belt?

You shouldn't normally have to add much PS fluid unless it's been neglected or you have a small leak.

Old 04-13-13, 03:27 PM