2000 Expedition. Won't crank

Old 05-14-13, 03:44 PM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2000 Expedition. Won't crank

My 99 Expedition does nothing when key is turned except dash lights come on. Headlights working, vent fan works, dome lights work etc. I took out starter and had it tested. Good. I checked that 12 plus volts are getting to starter. Good. I pulled the "big relays" out of both fuse boxes one at a time and replaced with a new one. Same result. What else should I do? Where is the neutral safety switch and how do I test it. I'm not a mechanic obviously, but can find my way Around with a little coaching. Thank a ton

Old 05-14-13, 05:08 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,595 Votes on 1,470 Posts
Try starting the car in neutral instead of park.

Ford uses an additional starting relay which is protected by an additional fuse. I believe there are two starting relays in the line.

When everything is quiet.....and you turn the key to start..... do you hear any clicks ?

Old 05-15-13, 05:17 AM
J
Thanks. It will not start in neutral or park. No sound when I turn the key anywhere near the starter. A couple of faint noises elsewhere after the key turn that I ASSUME have nothing to do with the start system. So where are the 2 relays? I haven't messed with any outside of the 2 main fuse boxes. Thanks again.....

Old 05-15-13, 12:46 PM
J