Minivan break conundrum?

Old 08-17-13, 12:51 PM
Minivan break conundrum?

We drive a 2012 Dodge Caravan, (our first new vehicle purchased sometime last year). I'll admit, I love the space it provides myself, my wife, and our three children.

I am no mechanic, but I am a junior chemical engineering student and I like to believe I am capable of "figuring stuff out". I've always done my own simple maintenance and repairs, such as: breaks, oil, bearings, etc...

Possibly, I should have stuck to this mantra.

Recently, at about 20,000 miles, the rear passenger side wheel started squealing while in motion. The squealing discontinues while applying the breaks, but come's back when the pressure is released - much louder if it is a hard stop.

The squealing will subside while turning the wheel right, yet continue's while turning left. Sometimes the squealing mysteriously stops, only to return at any given moment, and surely returns after engaging the breaks.

I would say that the wheel squeals more than 65% of the time spent in motion.

I know that I should have taken an immediate look at the break assembly myself, but we opted to take the caravan to the dealership instead. My next mistake was allowing my wife to bring it in. Nothing against her or women anywhere, but I've become to think that the dealership fed her a load of BS.
She's a smart lady and I coached her before she left, but I do not believe they took her seriously.

They charged her $55 for the appointment and told her that the "breaks were dirty". For another $100 they could blow out the dust and the noise would stop. She called me, and I told her that the assessment didn't make sense. I told her not to send good money after bad, and to come home.

Well I didn't do what I should have. I procrastinated, and almost three weeks have gone by. I have since been driving the van myself.