2008 cobalt wheel bearing

Old 03-15-14, 11:19 AM
2008 cobalt wheel bearing

I'm totally new to automotive, but I really want to learn how to do my own repairs and maintenance. I have a stock 2008 chevy cobalt LS coupe. 2.2L. during my last inspection the mechanic mentioned that my wheel bearing is starting to wear out, and I assume it's the "whum whum whum whum" sound that's coming from my front end. It sounds worse when turning to the right which indicates that it is the left front wheel bearing. what I am trying to figure out is what kind of bearing it is, what style, and what tools I will need to do it myself. Also an Idea as to how much time it will take. (it's my only vehicle so I don't have a backup) Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-15-14, 11:46 AM
Let me google that for you

Youtube and Google are your friend.

Old 03-15-14, 01:04 PM
Its about 1-1.5 hrs for someone doing it the first time, you will need a metric 1/2" drive set, either a 30, 32, 34 or 36 mm socket for the axle hub nut, and a torque wrench. I recommend a new axle hub nut when installing, when you tighten it, finish the final torque by hand, dont go full out and bottom it out with the impact gun. Otherwise the new bearing may not last.
To make sure youre changing the right one, spin tbe wheel and grab the spring, youll feel the bad bearing through the spring.
Now is a good time to service/inspect the brakes, make sure the sliders arent siezed and the pads arent seized in the caliper bracket.
Good luck

Old 03-15-14, 02:16 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
It would also be a good idea to invest in a repair manual for your vehicle

Old 03-15-14, 02:35 PM