Checking my 1998 Jeep front end/steering components for wear

Old 05-05-14, 09:08 PM
Checking my 1998 Jeep front end/steering components for wear

I've seen mechanics use something called a front end fork. However I don't know what they are looking for. I assume it's play in the various parts. I believe my jeep needs a new sway bar because if I hit a bump on a small curve I almost change lanes on the highway. Does anyone know of a video that shows how to check a front end? Maybe someone can advise me or post a link to a video. It doesn't have to be for a jeep but it would be nice. My mechanic of 15 years got sick and no longer does repairs. My town is small and not a lot of choices of mechanics. The ones that are here are expensive. I have tools and I am a printing press mechanic so I know how to use tools. The diagnosis is the problem! As always, any help will be greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-06-14, 03:53 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
I don't know of any vids [I'm sure there's one out there] but it isn't a difficult job. I'd suggest getting a Haynes repair manual - it should walk you thru it and help you with future repairs also.

Old 05-06-14, 10:57 AM
Dear Marksr, thanks so much. You know when I was a kid I used to build muscle cars I'm going back to the late 70's early 80"s. I also did all my own work on all of my cars I always referred to Haynes and "Motor" manuals. Thanks for the memory jog. Much appreciated.

Old 05-06-14, 11:21 AM
Super Moderator
Jack one wheel off the ground at a time. Then move the wheel back and forth. Look for loose pitman or idler arms. Also tie rods.

Here is a pitman arm thats shot..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2JLZlTC35OI

Old 05-06-14, 11:23 AM
Super Moderator
Old 05-06-14, 11:25 AM
Super Moderator
Old 05-06-14, 11:27 AM
Super Moderator
Note all videos below are reference only... Ignore any and all advertising for any specific businesses....

Old 05-06-14, 11:56 AM