A/C Compressor High Pressure Switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-24-14, 08:47 PM
1
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C Compressor High Pressure Switch

I am replacing the GM OEM compressor on my 1997 Express Van with an after market compressor. The after market compressor did not come with a high pressure switch installed on the unit. What is the purpose of the high pressure switch? How does it work and effect the operation of the compressor? Is it necessary to install a high pressure switch inorder to have a properly functioning compressor? Will the compressor function w/o a high pressure switch installed?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-24-14, 09:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,962
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The high pressure switch is there in case the system is overcharged or the system runs too hot as in sitting there with the engine just idling and keeps the compressor from discharging refrigerant into the air.

Many systems don't have them. It's an extra safety for the compressor. If the new one doesn't have it then that company assumes it's either not needed or that there is a switch in the line.
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-14, 07:24 PM
iceman681's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 461
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
you need to swap it over or the system will not come on. they didnt include it to save money, and mass produce for a number different cars. with out it the car will think it allways has high pressure. there should be a snap ring holding it in. becarefull not to pry to hard or you will break it.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: