Cruise control 2001 Ford 150

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-14-15, 04:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 34
Cruise control 2001 Ford 150

Cruise control quit working on my truck. No big deal but handy on long trips. Checked fuses and all are good. When holding set button down and hitting the resume button the horn blows. Thinking short in steering column. What do you guys think? thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-14-15, 05:57 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,706
Yes, that's a bad clock spring.
 
  #3  
Old 01-15-15, 11:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: santa fe /texas
Posts: 998
Just Curious, Does yours have the pressure switch on the top/front of the master cylinder?
IF so, is it DRY/NOT leaking?
There was/Is a recall on MANY of these trucks, WITH this switch.
 
  #4  
Old 01-15-15, 12:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,658
That's interesting. Many times the airbag system faults first and then other strange problems start when the clockspring starts to crack.
 
  #5  
Old 01-21-15, 03:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 34
well I changed the clock spring And the relay. still no cruise control. what is next guys? thanks
 
  #6  
Old 01-21-15, 03:20 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,706
Does the horn still blow as you described?

Do you have a digital multimeter? You can test the voltage by backprobing your servo connector. This is also a good way to test your steering wheel control buttons. I actually have a spare set somewhere around here.

Clutch or automatic transmission?

Try the instructions posted here: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/pi...procedure.html
 
  #7  
Old 01-21-15, 06:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 34
Xsleeper, I did the test and it flashed twice. So that means it is the brake pedal position switch or otherwise known as the cruise control cutout sensor. thanks.
 
  #8  
Old 01-21-15, 09:25 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,706
awesome! glad you figured it out. sorry about the clock spring comment... If I would have thought about it clearly, it's when the horn also doesn't work that it's the clock spring.
 
  #9  
Old 01-22-15, 09:52 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,564
Interesting procedure, XSleeper...any idea what model years it covers? Newer vehicles use a drive-by-wire throttle--how does one know if the dynamic servo test is working if the pedal has no cable to move it?

Also @OP: What does Set/Resume normally do? I've never heard of any need to hold any buttons depressed in normal operation of the cruise control so maybe that initiates a different mystery test?

--Or do I misunderstand?
 
  #10  
Old 01-22-15, 10:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 34
Well xsleeper that did not work. I did the test after putting the new part in and now I have 3 flashes. Which is the deactivation switch according to the chart. Isn't that the same thing?
 
  #11  
Old 01-22-15, 02:56 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,706
There are several sensors that will override the cruise. You have a pressure switch on the master cylinder, the brake switch, and possibly a clutch switch.

If you'd test the voltage on the clutch servo connector that would help with the diagnosis.

Pin 9 should show 12V
Pin 7 should show 12V
Pin 5 should show around 8V at KOEO
Pin 5 should show 12V (as it should) when pushing the cruise ON button
Pin 5 should show 0V when pushing the cruise OFF button
Pin 5 should show around 3.5 V when pushing the SET/ACCEL button
Pin 5 should show around .9 V when pushing the COAST button
Pin 4 should show 12V while pushing the brake
Pin 4 should show 0V when not pushing the brake

I think I have heard that a burnt out brake light can affect the brake circuit. Remember that on the Ford onboard diagnostic test, 2 flashes can mean possibly 4 different things. You probably guessed wrong. Its better to figure this out electrically, since this is probably an electrical problem.

I'm not totally sure what years it covers, but probably 97-04, at a minimum.
 
  #12  
Old 01-24-15, 02:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 34
Finally got it figured out. It was the inline fuse on the pressure switch. This was added in the recall in 2005. Thanks for helping out.
 
  #13  
Old 01-24-15, 03:19 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 20,706
Nice job... good feeling once you get it fixed!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes