Car Remote Control

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-19-16, 03:47 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 620
Car Remote Control

It will lock but it will not unlock for my Toyota 2003.


I have changed batteries but still the same issue. Is it the unlock button became defected or is there a fuse that I can change out?


Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-19-16, 04:38 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
There is a fuse for the electric locks but not separate fuses for lock and unlock, so it's not a fuse. Most likely the button on the key fob....that's the most commonly used button so is most likely to wear out.

Do the inside buttons work OK? Do you have a second fob you can try?
 
  #3  
Old 06-19-16, 05:22 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 620
Originally Posted by CarbideTipped
Do you have a second fob you can try?
I don't know why I didn't think of this but good idea! Will try it and update later.

Thanks for the info on the fuse CarbideTipped.
 
  #4  
Old 06-19-16, 05:34 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 7,865
Lock button on my key fob has worn outca couple of times, found replacments in amazon for good prices
 
  #5  
Old 06-19-16, 05:43 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 620
Originally Posted by pugsl
Lock button on my key fob has worn outca couple of times, found replacments in amazon for good prices
Thank you Pugsl. I will look for it on Amazon. I got a replacement for my wife's fob a few months ago at the Honda dealership. If I remember correctly, it was about $150.
 
  #6  
Old 06-19-16, 09:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,631
Based on the model of the 2003 Toyota.... you may be able to buy a generic replacement remote and program it yourself.

Some must be programmed by the dealer.
 
  #7  
Old 06-20-16, 04:06 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 7,865
Just went to amazon and looked up honda and toyota key fobs. They were between 8.00 and 60.00 $.
 
  #8  
Old 06-20-16, 12:20 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 620
Thanks PJMax and PugsL!

How does the frequency of my current FOB gets transfer to this new one? Otherwise, this would be able to open all cars the same model.

https://www.amazon.com/KeylessOption.../dp/B0169FWW0U
 
  #9  
Old 06-20-16, 01:21 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,292
Compare it to a garage door opener.

The receiver in the car is programmed to recognize the signal from that particular opener.
 
  #10  
Old 06-20-16, 01:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 68
They should include instructions on programming the new remote to your car. I don't know what's involved for a Toyota, but for my Fords, it's a "rapidfire" sequence of flipping the key on and off in the ignition several times and then pushing a button on each remote.
 
  #11  
Old 06-20-16, 02:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
Do a Google using program (year, make, model of car) key fob (leave out the parentheses) as the search term. For the 2003 Honda it returns these results. https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q...+honda+key+fob

Some cars cannot be programmed without special equipment. My 2009 Toyota Camry seems to be one although many of the google and YouTube results say it can. For these, look for an automotive locksmith to help as they are often less expensive than the dealer. On the other hand, some dealers may program the fob for free if you are having other work done on the car. You have to ask.
 
  #12  
Old 06-20-16, 09:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,631
What is the full model of the 2003 Toyota ??
 
  #13  
Old 06-20-16, 09:30 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 620
Hi Goldstar, fShannon3, Furd and PJMax,

I found an extra fob that came with the car 13 years ago. Brand new. I thought that I might have to do a "rapidfire" trick that fShannon3 shared. Nope, it worked.

Originally Posted by CarbideTipped
Do you have a second fob you can try?
It worked. Just need to put in a new battery.

Thank you everyone!!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes