Scirocco R

Old 10-28-17, 05:33 PM
G
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Scirocco R

Hi, well I traded in my chevy spark and got a Scirocco R (2013 with 53,000 km). It has APR stage 2 and apr intercooler.
I'm new to VW cars so I'm trying to brush up on as much info I can about VW cars, particularly my model.

I'll need to do an oil change right away. Does anyone know if the VW scirocco's oil can be changed by any professional or can it only be done by the actual VW service center? I know that some cars/makes have setups where only the service center of that brand can access or open parts up.

I also have a question about my wheel (ATS Racelight 19 inch). If the wheel is 19 inches, the tire must be 19 inches also correct? I am not allowed to use 18" on them? But if the width is 235 tires, I do believe I can use 225 tires or even 245 tires correct? I have to shop for new tires and I was just wondering how much I can deviate from the current 235/35z/19 tires.
Would something like 235/45/19 be ok to fit?

Old 10-28-17, 07:29 PM
Super Moderator
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Wow, that's quite a step up I'd say.

Don't know why any place wouldn't be able to do it, just don't let them use the crappy off the shelf filters or bulk oil unless it's exactly what is spec'd in the manual. Buy a top of the line name brand or OEM. Oh, and don't use an oil change only place. Find a good import shop that deals with your brand. You'll save in the long run.

As to tires, yes you could probably go up or down as you mentioned, but I wouldn't go down. The suspension is set up for those type tires, smaller might mess with the calibration for no gain. It's a minuscule amount either way. Be careful that wider don't rub the inner fenders.

If it's got 35's you probably need to stay with 35's. https://tiresize.com/calculator/ You can play with that and see how much each difference makes.

Old 10-29-17, 03:50 AM
G