Problems after pulling pcu/ECU fuse


  #1  
Old 02-21-18, 07:25 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 850
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Problems after pulling pcu/ECU fuse

Pulled pcm fuse to reset after replacing msf sensor. Now radio interior lights and gauges don't work.
 
  #2  
Old 02-21-18, 08:01 AM
G
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,357
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Only connection I can think of is the dead circuit fuse is next to the PCM fuse & got bumped.
 
  #3  
Old 02-21-18, 08:16 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 850
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Seems everything in dash area including heater, power windows as well.. 2003 Ford explorer 6 cylinder 4.0 Eddie Bauer. Will check to see if I disturbed other fuses

Started right up this morning though. Running rough at idle but from what I've read this is normal
 

Last edited by Stumped1; 02-21-18 at 09:16 AM.
  #4  
Old 02-24-18, 07:56 AM
ukrbyk's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA/ Pacific NW
Posts: 3,563
Received 46 Upvotes on 37 Posts
I have no idea how many times I had ECM fuse pulled on various vehicles, finicky capricious hybrids including. NEVER had an issue. Then again, it's Ford and they are plagued with electric issues in wiring. Specifically, fusible links. I join the choir - something got bumped.
 
  #5  
Old 02-24-18, 01:33 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 850
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Operator error! When I put the fuse back I put it back in the wrong slot.
 
  #6  
Old 02-24-18, 01:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 61,710
Received 3,340 Upvotes on 2,999 Posts
Possibly more operator error.... if the ECU fuse was not in the proper place.... the vehicle wouldn't run.
 
  #7  
Old 02-24-18, 02:37 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 850
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I thought of that. According to the owners manual that is the right fuse. Anyway running fine now.
 
  #8  
Old 02-26-18, 08:47 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 850
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
So the rough idle has returned. Thinking I will try the battery disconnect ECU reset. Also read that it could be exhaust leak. Tried listening for leak but can't tell if there's anything, at least not that I can identify.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: