2003 Highlander will not take in freon


  #1  
Old 09-08-19, 09:01 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2003 Highlander will not take in freon

I replaced the ac compressor, added oil, pulled a vacuum, and verified that the system is sealed. When trying to add freon the compressor clutch does not engage to draw the freon into the system.
 
  #2  
Old 09-08-19, 12:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,534
Received 1,596 Votes on 1,471 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

If you had the system under a vacuum..... it should have drawn the refrigerant in as a vapor. There should be a tag under the hood specifying the amount of refrigerant needed. You need to get close to this before the compressor will run.
 
  #3  
Old 09-08-19, 02:23 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 76 Votes on 69 Posts
You could jump the pressure switch to get compressor turning. System under vacuum should of drawn in enough Freon to make compressor run.Did you plug in clutch when you finished. I have done that before,
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: