2016 Ford Focus traditional clutch problem @ 35k?

Old 01-06-20, 11:52 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2016 Ford Focus traditional clutch problem @ 35k?

2016 Ford Focus, 2.0, traditional 5 sd manual (not the newfangled power shift semi-auto that is causing people problems), 35k. I have been driving a clutch for 40 years and never had a problem with them going out early except for this one. At 35k you could smell burning clutch from five feet away although it still drove fine a few times I could feel it slipping. The Ford dealer said I burned out the clutch and replaced it for more than I am worth (no warranties on clutches). They also said that there was nothing else wrong - like the clutch master cylinder that could have caused it. Has anyone heard of traditional Ford manual clutches buring out early? I know this car has a hill holder system that will keep the breaks engaged for a second once the clutch is released, could that be the problem? Or is it me?

Sponsored Links
Old 01-06-20, 12:51 PM
Received 45 Votes on 39 Posts
It depends on many things like do you do a lot of starts/stops, spin the driven tires, pull a trailer, maintain the clutch engagement position and so forth. Could you further describe what the car was doing when you were able to smell the clutch burning from 5 feet away?

Old 01-06-20, 01:36 PM
Group Moderator
Received 39 Votes on 31 Posts
FWIW, I would not have paid Ford to do it non-warranty.

Old 01-06-20, 01:40 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts