motor oils

Old 01-24-02, 05:09 PM
motor oils

I have been using a 10/40w oil from Sam's club for a couple of years in our vehicles.It is a really cheap oil, (about 10$ for a 12 qt. case). Has anyone else used this product and have any comments? I'm wondering if this isn't part of the reason why our van is in need of a set of rings. Any recommendations on any particular oil? Synthetics?
I'm thinking seriously about going to a better grade in any case. Thanx,

Sponsored Links
Old 01-24-02, 05:57 PM
Huxley
Visiting Guest
Oil

a freind told me that it was made by quicker state but I dont know if that is true. But think it would have to be made by a major label to supply wal-mart all across the country.

Old 01-24-02, 08:46 PM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
You don't mention what year your van is, the engine type or the mileage, but 10W40 hasn't been a factory recommended grade for some time on newer vehicles.

10W40 is usually used on older vehicles with higher mileage where 10W30 or 5W30 (which was originally recommended) would be consumed by the engine burning it

I use 10W40 in the Oldsmobile (older and higher mileage) and in my 1979 Trans Am (owner's manual says it is OK).

My 80 Turbo T/A requires 10W30, which I use.

Old 01-25-02, 05:27 AM
Group Moderator
We use the Sam's Club house brand 10w-30 in both our wreckers (Chevy 350's in both), changed every 3000 miles. My truck has 160k on the engine (295k on the chassis - original engine was NOT an oil-related failure) and uses no oil. Other truck pushing 100k, same thing. Don't waste your money; it's not WHAT you put in, it's how often you change it. If you are determined to spend more money change your oil every 2000 miles instead.

Old 01-25-02, 06:50 AM
Visiting Guest