I need to fix interior

Old 11-24-01, 04:56 PM
Roof leaks, detective work and best way to repair?

I have a roof over a large room that I have been patching with Plastic Roof Cement(Henry's 204) for a few years. My method was to map out the leaks from inside and then go on the roof and patch, with the roof cement, any cracks or holes anywhere near the mapped out spot(I would go 3 ft away upstream of the spot if necessary). This would help a bit, but most of the leaks just kept leaking. BTW, this is a slightly sloping roof, not flat but probably 15 degrees or so, redone with 90# roll roofing about 6-8 years ago, nailed every inch where the overlaps are.

I would then go up and kneeling down, feel for weak spots with my fingers. The rolled roofing wasn't flat everywhere, and had ridge type buckles that were obvious spots for water to accumulate. I wouldn't find many cracked through, but some of the ridge areas seemed weak, so assuming that water would just soak through, I would cover those areas with more Henry's roof cement. This rarely stopped the problem, but sometimes slowed it down.

One year I bought a large 6 mil plastic tarp, and with two pieces(overlap was 6 feet) covered the entire roof. Amazingly, the damn roof still leaked in some of the same spots, although this did cut down the leaking about 50%.

A few years ago I started pulling off old roofing(on another end of the house) and doing it the correct way. But this year may be my last here, and since I don't own the house I need to continue to patch.