suburban brakes?

Old 03-10-02, 12:40 PM
tmhunter
Visiting Guest
suburban brakes?

I have an '88 Suburban that was having a problem with the front brakes locking up before the rears even engaged. I changed the front brake pads, adjusted the rear pads (pads are o.k.), replaced the combination valve (some people I've talked to called this a proportioning valve), and then went to a new master cylinder. We went to the new master cylinder after noting far diminished flow from the front port on the master cylinder, and the rear brakes bleeding very slowly. When we open the bleeder valves in the rear, the fluid slowly oozes out and the brake pedal doesn't go to the floor, compared to the normal squirt and the brake pedal going to the floor. I opened the line at the T above the rear differential with moderate fluid flow, and opened it at the coupler midway down the frame, again with moderate flow. I've exhausted all my ideas (although I am a novice), and I am desperate for any ideas that you all may have...thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-10-02, 01:00 PM
It's a long shot. however a deteriorated rear rubber brake hose has been found to cause an internal restriction. When bleeding your rear brakes the petal will not go all the way to the floor it stops half way.

I have run into brake systems where people who ran dot 3 or 4 and did not flush out the system every year. Their was so many rubber particles in the system that these pieces acted like plugs throughout the system.

I would be surprised if it were your proportioning valve. The 2 front and 1 rear rubber brake hoses are often forgotten when people service their hydralic systems. They can cause some strange problems if not replaced for long periods.

Old 03-10-02, 03:14 PM
Lightbulb

I agree with Marturo. Its probably the rubber hose is bad. Also dont forget to replace the brake fluid. Good luck on the repairs. keep us posted.

OM

Old 03-10-02, 09:34 PM