99 Surburban pulling and virbrating

Old 03-14-02, 10:52 AM
rodiva
Visiting Guest
Lightbulb 99 Surburban pulling and virbrating

I am a newbie to this forum. my '99 surburban 4wd had alingnment done a month ago, the alingment mechanic told me the truck needed brake, and quoted me $220. Consequently i asked a friend who manages another muffler & brake service to check my truck to see if it really needs brake.

My friend picked it up at my place and drove to work; he told me while driving there, the truck pulled toward right, and would try tire rotation to see if it would help. he replaced front pad (ac delco) turned rotors; replaced rear shoe (bendix) and had to sent drums to another brake place because "it had few hot spots on both drums" that he couldn't shave it off with his machine. He charged me $320 is that too much, cuz the alignment mechanic told me only $220 ?

While my friend drove my truck back to me, he said it still pulls to right and car is "jumping" and asked if the previous alignment mechanic balanced the tire before doing alignment. I didn't know, and the alingment mechanic charged me only $80 so i wasn't sure what was done. My friend insisted on educating me the difference betwn brake, wheel balance and alignment but i just couldn't get it! He also said since i have custom wheel "American Pacer" that perhaps only be able to put weight at the inner side of rims.

I don't know who to trust or if i got screwed by my friend or the alignment shop. I drive the truck now and it pulls to the right more than before. Can my friend possibly screwed up the alignment by simply changing brake parts? your suggestion is greatly appreciated, thank in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-14-02, 11:45 AM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
If the vehicle pulls when braking, look for a stuck caliper or bad brake hose.

That being said, you should check www.alldata.com and see if they have any bulletins that match your symptoms.