Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

1995 Dodge 2500 Ram Van -318/Magnum Motor-(Cooling System Problems)

Visiting Guest

03-20-02, 04:55 PM   #1  
Bones
1995 Dodge 2500 Ram Van -318/Magnum Motor-(Cooling System Problems)

I have been smelling a faint smell of "Antifreeze" for a couple of months on and off. I did not see any fluid underneath the van. I also made sure I kept an eye on the temperature guage and the radiator fluid level. I only "added" antifreeze once and it wasn't any significant amount. Then, just 2 days ago I was driving and all of a sudden I smelled antifreeze real bad and the temperature guage rose to the "Hot-Level". I quickly shut the vehicle off and went out to look under the hood and all I could see is antifreeze pouring out from what looked like the "water-pump" area. *This van is a great vehicle and appears to have been maintained pretty good by the previous "fleet owner". I've personally put about 26,000 miles on it since I've owned it. Presently the van has 168,000 miles and the water-pump was last changed at 125,000 miles as per the "vehicle records". I let the vehicle cool down for a couple of hours and went back to see if I could drive the van cautiously home. My friend who is pretty mechanical had me pour water in the radiator and we left the "radiator cap" partially loose and I kept the "heat on". I kept my eye carefully on the "temperature guage" and it stayed basically at the "middle of "Cold" and "Hot". I made it home but I was nervous as hell because I did not want to "damage" my motor. Later that night I tried to add some more antifreeze so there wasn't straight water but it seems like alot was coming right back out as quickly as I was pouring the new stuff in. I did notice that it did not leak as quickly when the van was "running". Does it seem logical to say that the "water-pump seal" must have finally bl