My Ford F150 didn't pass emissions test today

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-22-02, 03:31 PM
Herm's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Island Lake, IL
Posts: 535
My Ford F150 didn't pass emissions test today

My Ford F150 didn't pass emissions test today, and it was because of the high level of hydrocarbons. Everything else was within exceptable levels.

I'm not sure if I even know what a hydrocarbon is, let alone what would be causing higher levels of it. It passed a year ago.

It is a 1990
4.9L straight six - electronic fuel injected
manual transmission
I live in Illinois

It needs to be repaired B4 I take it back for a retest, but I don't want to pay hundreds of dollars to a repair tech to have it fixed.

Is there anything obvious that would be causing this that I can check myself?

Any suggestions are certainly welcome!

Herm
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-22-02, 04:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa
Posts: 2,417
im failure

Did it fail at idle,cruise or both?Please post all of the exhaust gas readings including rpms.By the the way hydrocarbons are unburnt fuel,usually caused by a misfire or lean mixture.Both could be caused by a vacuum leak or low fuel pressure.Please post back with readings,without knowing hc,co and o2 readings its a guess at best.How many miles on your truck?Has your truck had a tune up lately,if not maybe its time,fouled plugs bad wires,cap will also cause an hc failure,even a tired catalytic converter.
 
  #3  
Old 05-22-02, 04:41 PM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I agree with Davo. Need more information to be able to have a chance to help out.
 
  #4  
Old 05-22-02, 04:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,538
even contaminated oil can cause high hydrocarbons so it is a good idea to have your oil changed right before you have an emission test done even if you just have 1000 miles on your last oil change it makes a difference.
 
  #5  
Old 05-22-02, 05:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa
Posts: 2,417
Contaminated oil will cause high hc,but will also cause high co,that is why I need readings.To have high hc from oil it must be polluted with gas which will result in high co also.Also co does not need to be to failure level to be high.Herm do you have air injection?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes