Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

compression test results

05-27-02, 01:14 PM   #1  
compression test results

Today I did a compression test on my 85 Dodge B150 with a 318 I had the engine warmed up, pulled the plugs and on the 3rd and subsequent 3 cylinders I go zero reading so knowing the truck was running I went and got another compression tester. It took me an hour and the van was rather cold when I took the readings. on the first crank the readings were 150, 120, 112, 113, 117, 120, 140, 140 after 4 cranks the readings are 185,, 165, 145, 124, 150, 155, 165, 165. I have limited auto knowledge but from the readings I would guess I have a carbon build up in the head. If this diagnosis is correct is there anything other than a valve job, maybe a chemical that will break up some of the deposits. thanks

Sponsored Links
Visiting Guest

05-27-02, 02:27 PM   #2  
Joe_F
What symptoms/problems are you having? If everything's fine, leave it alone and drive it until it drops. Not worth fixing an old Chrysler heap like that with extensive repairs.

05-27-02, 02:52 PM   #3  
compression test results

Joe, I'll probably be keeping the van forever, I park on the streets of Manhattan and drive to Mexico every year and it's a campervan. That being said, the symptoms are white smoke on startup and a general lack of power. I'm going for a retest on emissions tomorrow and tuned it up and changed the oil so it would run cleaner. I also put in a bottle of something that said I'd be guaranteed to pass emissions and I had more power for the tankful. I like the van a lot, money is not a problem. I also like to involve myself in doing whatever is necessary to the van. I also have much more money in it than it's worth but it's worth it to me.

05-27-02, 04:25 PM   #4  
A 318 is worth a rebuild.