Looking for reference info on NYS Inspection program

Old 06-03-02, 02:58 PM
trendar
Visiting Guest
Looking for reference info on NYS Inspection program

Is there any reference, online or otherwise, that provides DETAILED information on the safety inspection part of the NYS inspection program?
I saw a page on the NYS DMV that gives some information, but it's very general and subject to individual interpretation.

For instance, specifics on items checked (e.g. no windshield cracks exceeding 4" in length, in the wiper swept area), rather than "Windshield - check for presence and condition." or "Disc brake pads - check condition"

Is there in fact any specific guidelines set up, or is it pretty much left to the individual shop to interpret?

Sponsored Links
Old 06-04-02, 06:09 AM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
What are you looking to find out?

(I am a NYS inspector).

The DMV site is pretty detailed enough for what most consumers need to know.

The bottom line is that if your car is in good shape, it will pass.

I do my OWN inspections weekly on my cars for the simple stuff and when it comes time for the NYS inspection, it flies through

Old 06-04-02, 07:11 AM
trendar
Visiting Guest
Well, like the windshield example, suppose there's a small crack from a stone hit, that extends 5" end to end, near the bottom of the windshield. If it's inside the wiper swept area, is that grounds for failure? Or, if there was a crack extending outside the swept area, let's say where the defroster was turned on full blast when it was iced over, and it stressed it enough to crack the length of the windshield? Would that fail, even if it were outside of the swept area? I've recalled one inspection station telling me if it's greater than 4" in the swept area, it should fail. Is that correct?
Or, if there's a very slight staining of the body of the rear brake caliper, from some seepage that occurred over a long period, but not actively leaking. (Just residue, no dripping whatsoever).