Emissions failure High HydroCarbon Levels

Old 06-17-02, 05:44 PM
mr_bidinkle
Visiting Guest
Emissions failure High HydroCarbon Levels

I have a 97 Chevy Cavalier with a 2.2L engine. I tried to get it inspected, i live in utah and they control this, this week and the HydroCarbon levels were extremely High. I would like to know what i should look for to fix this problem and how to test what ever it is i need to check. I.e. how can i test the catalytic converter to tell if it is bad? I have never worked on this particular problem before and i am not sure what to look into, but i want to fix it myself if possible.
Thank you,

steve

Sponsored Links
Old 06-18-02, 10:30 AM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
HC is really unburned fuel out of the back of the vehicle. Think of it as a huge fuel leak, because that is what it really is.

Look at all the tuneup items, plugs, wires, cap and rotor (if equipped), O2 sensor and all other tune up type items. Incorrect fuel pressure can also cause this. If you cannot remember the last time most of the tune up items were changed, pitch them all in favor of new ones.

How much did you fail by?

Old 06-18-02, 01:59 PM
mr_bidinkle
Visiting Guest
Thank you, i'll check those things out first. my car is allowed to be at 98 and it was about 297. I changed the oil, air filter, spark plugs and wires, and the fuel filter today. It ran better. I am just hoping it's not the catalytic convertor or the timing. are there easy ways to tell? Thank you for your help! I want to do everything i can to fix, before i take it back. the place will do one free retest after it fails.
again, thanks,

steve

Old 06-18-02, 02:11 PM
Check the EGR valve, to ensure it is working properly. You will need to get a good repair book and run through all the tune up and adjustments....check the timing. Make sure all the vacumn lines are connected and going to the right spot, with no leaks.