95 Ford Mustang Motor Change

Closed Thread

  #1  
Old 06-24-02, 01:14 PM
Shaman_C
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
95 Ford Mustang Motor Change

Hi again, I have a 95 ford mustang coupe v/6 3.8 lit. 5 speed
I was thinking about changing it to a v/8 5.0 changing from a coupe to a GT.
Can you tell me what would be the process for it to convert over.
Or how would be the best and easiest way to change it over from v/6 to v/8? would the best one be a 5.0 or would it be better to go with something else?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-24-02, 10:26 PM
knuckles
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
This swap will be nearly impossible unless you have access to a lift. The V-8 is installed from BELOW.

Assuming you have a lift, good mechanical skills & tools, it's still a difficult swap. Parts, even used parts are very expensive & lots of 'em have to be changed when converting. In the end, you'd spend more money swapping a V-8 in to your existing car than you would if you'd sold your car & bought a factory V-8 car.
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-02, 04:30 AM
redneck
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Agree, these are not your 60's and 70's muscle cars--go buy a GT!
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-02, 06:49 AM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I agree with these guys. Waste of time. Pitch the car for one with a factory V8.

It will look, run, perform and be valued higher than any conversion from a V6 to a V8. V6 parts are made of gum and won't hold up well behind V8 power.

It will be cheaper in the long run to get a car with a V8 installed and mod that one. You can literally trip over a V8 Mustang they are so common.
 
  #5  
Old 03-13-13, 12:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 1
just finished this swap!!!!

it is a very easy swap to do all u need is the 5.0 and wiring harness it plugs right in u need the computer from the v8 under the dash and behind the radiator the bell housing from the v8 will bolt right to your tranny they are practically the same I don't think there is a difference and your exhaust will need tweaking.. right now im having a computer problem the 5.0 computer will not fit in the old ones spot think its the wrong one or something... will update when I find out whats up...
 
  #6  
Old 03-13-13, 01:00 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,917
Hello, this thread is 10 years old and you're talking to ghosts, since no one is a member (or even a name) anymore.
If you have a question or need help, please start a new thread.
 
Closed Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes