Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

85 camry (no fire)


kdogg's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

06-25-02, 03:13 PM   #1  
kdogg
85 camry (no fire)

Hello everyone. this is the deal. I have a 85 camry thats not getting any fire. It used to run for a while and then die. Wait about a hour and it would start again, it did that about 10 times, now it will not start at all. I have almost checked or replaced everything. the distributor, igniter, coil, wires, cap, rotor, computer, fuses, relays, wires, all these things have been replaced or checked. The distributor has power getting to it, but its not puting out fire. I have been messing with this thing for a long time, it is really stumped me, and help would be greatly appreciated..............

 
Sponsored Links
toyotaman11769's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,531

06-25-02, 03:55 PM   #2  
Does the check eng lite lite up when ign turned on?

Larry

 
kdogg's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

06-26-02, 03:33 PM   #3  
kdogg
Well, just when the key is on all the lights come on, but when the car used to run, the check engine light never came on. I also conducted the self diagnosis test, the code was the "ignition circuit" "the iia assembly" or the computer, and like i said all of that has been checked or replaced. the only thing i hace replaced in the ignition system is the ignition switch itself. I have visually inspected it, it "looks" ok..........

 
Joe_F's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

06-26-02, 04:19 PM   #4  
Joe_F
Is there spark at the plugs when you have the trouble?

 
kdogg's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

06-26-02, 07:02 PM   #5  
kdogg
No, no spark. When it used to die on me, It would take about a hour to start again, during that hour there was no spark. Now like I said no spark at all, ever. Something else I noticed is that when It used to die on me the efi main relay was getting real hot. Which is unusual to me, my first thought was short, but the problem is I cant find it Do you think the ignition switch could be the problem?

 
toyotaman11769's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,531

06-26-02, 08:02 PM   #6  
You say you check or replaced almost everything. Did you ohm the pick-up coil(should be about 200 ohm). Those pink and white wires usuially break inside(not the insulation) . Tug on them, they should be soild.

Larry

 
kdogg's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

06-27-02, 06:53 PM   #7  
kdogg
Yes, I did ohm the coil, and the pick-up coil, as well as the igniter. The pick-up coil has been replaced so it has new wires on it. Also the igniter and coil and disributor has been replaced. Could the ignition switch be bad? Like I said, everthing in the distributor is getting juice but not putting out anything, almost like its not getting the signal it needs to spit out fire. Is there some other ignition device that I am missing, that I can check?

 
kdogg's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

06-27-02, 06:56 PM   #8  
kdogg
Yea, the specs say between 160 and 180, it comes to like 178.........

 
bejay's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,538

06-27-02, 07:11 PM   #9  
have you checked for spark at the ignition coil instead of at the plugs , is the rotor turning while cranking engine? its possible you may have a bad ecm.

 
toyotaman11769's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,531

06-27-02, 07:16 PM   #10  
The dist is a self contained unit. Basically if you provide power ,ground and turn the shaft it will produce a spark.
It's not like a system that relies on a sig from ecm, the signal is produced in the dist and is used by the ignitor to turn the coil on and off.

Your problem is confined to those things. If there is power the ignition sw is ok.
Larry

 
kdogg's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

06-28-02, 03:59 PM   #11  
kdogg
Yes, I have checked for spark at the dist. itself, nothing. The rotor is turning when cranked over, checked that to. I just put a new ecm on it, still nothing........I have been fooling with this thing for 3 months, still cant figure it out, like I said, its getting juice.......I may just have to do what I have never done,(and dont want to do), and bring it to a mechanic shop and have them put it on the computer.......usually I can figure things out, but this one has got me stumped, and the reason I got a new ecm is on my car the control module is intergrated in the computer, its all one unit. I thought maybe the control module went bad, but I guess not....

 
toyotaman11769's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,531

06-28-02, 04:10 PM   #12  
Ecm on this car has nothing to due with spark. It has mech weights and vac advance to control timing. In 86 they added comp controlled spark and therefore donnot have vac advance or mech weights.

thats why with power, ground and turning of dist(even out of the engine ) you should have spark

Larry

 
kdogg's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

06-28-02, 04:27 PM   #13  
kdogg
Well, doesnt the control module deal with the dist.?

 
toyotaman11769's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,531

06-28-02, 04:53 PM   #14  
Does it have vac advance? If so you only have two wires to dist, power and tach lead.

Not guite sure what you mean by "control module". Computer control would involve the pick-up coil sig being sent to the ecm. Ecm then will alter ignition timing based on that sig and other sensor inputs. Computer will control ignition coil.

Computer controlled timing will usually have 4 or more wires out of the dist

Larry

 
kdogg's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

06-29-02, 11:06 AM   #15  
kdogg
Right, vaccum advance. 2 wires. As far as the ground goes, does the dist. just ground itself?

 
toyotaman11769's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,531

06-29-02, 11:22 AM   #16  
Correct about ground. Like I said you don't even need computer on a 85 Camry to have spark.

Longshot....possibly if the tach wire is shorted to ground. Try applying power and ground with dist out of engine with jump wires(the power is the heavier wire of the two). Spin the shaft by hand and see if you have spark. You must have spark, if not there is something wrong in the dist.

Larry

 
kdogg's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

06-30-02, 12:46 PM   #17  
kdogg
Yea, the power is a black wire with orange stripe. The other wire is smaller and black. Do you know what the black wire is for? I think it goes to the A/C Amplifier??? What is that? And is that where it goes?

 
toyotaman11769's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,531

06-30-02, 02:23 PM   #18  
It is the tach wire. Used for a/c amp, dash tach, and input to ecu.

Larry

 
kdogg's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

07-01-02, 07:06 PM   #19  
kdogg
What is the a\c amp????

 
toyotaman11769's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,531

07-02-02, 02:41 AM   #20  
The name they gave for the A/C control unit or A/C computer.It takes sensor inputs and uses them to control the A/C clutch and A/C idle-up. The input are...eng rpm, comp rpm, evap temp, freon pressures(low&high)and A/C request.

Larry

 
Search this Thread